My linear ordinary, extraordinary life

time-travel“You can’t redo the most important moments in life, so do them right the first time around.”

About Time is a film about a young English man, Tim, who has the ability to travel backwards in time–an ability that only the men of his family possess. Tim’s father chose to tell him about it on his 21st birthday and discourages him from using his gift for money or fame. So he does exactly what any other guy would use it for instead: to improve his love life. After some time, though, Tim discovers some valuable lessons to teach us about how to live life.

“I don’t get many things right the first time. Now I know that all the wrong turns and stumbles and falls brought me here.”

Having used this unique gift for such a long time, his father eventually shares with him his secret formula for happiness. He tells him, “Live every day again, almost exactly the same. The first time with all the tensions and worries that stop us from noticing how sweet the world can be, but the second time noticing.” He lives the exact same day again with a high-spirited air about him, appreciating the positive things in people, the simple beauties in his environment, and remembering to celebrate the smallest of victories in his life.

“I just try to live everyday as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.”

We don’t have the pleasure of having a mulligan at the end of a bad day. However, what Tim teaches us is very important, and we can do it in our linear experiences of life.

1) Smile more (even forceful smiling can boost your mood!)
2) Learn to take life a little less seriously
3) Find the hidden humor in simple frustrations
4) Learn to laugh at yourself
5) Celebrate the small victories
6) Take a brief moment to look around you and appreciate the unique beauty of wherever you are

“We’re all traveling through time together, every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.”

Whenever I talk with an RPCV (Returned Peace Corps Volunteer) I am told that I should journal about all the little experiences, see as much as possible and take plenty of pictures, and spend time with people because these two years will fly by. I won’t really know if I did all of these things well enough until my time here is complete and I can analyze in retrospect. Like high school and college, I hope I can look back at my PC service, and ultimately at my life, and remember doing the above ‘Daily To-do List’ and be able to say that I experienced my time to its fullest potential. I hope you can say the same about today, tomorrow, and your life as a whole.
-Jody

2 thoughts on “My linear ordinary, extraordinary life

  1. Pingback: Got a problem? There’s a bucket for that. | ONE POINT FIVE BILLION INCHES

Leave a Reply

